Why Job Seekers Should Tweet

For those of you who think Twitter is the energy drink form of Facebook, please think again.   While I agree there are thousands upon thousands of people who “tweet” every thought that comes into their heads, business takes advantage of this Social Media site for an entirely different reason.  News, sports, and business organizations use Twitter to send information out to the public at a faster rate that any other source in the past.  A trending topic can go viral within seconds of release.   Twitter’s 140 character format has introduced an entirely different way in which we can gather information and, for that matter, communicate with one another.

Like many other naysayers, I created my Twitter account as soon as I heard about this new service.  I logged in for the first time and logged back out after five minutes.  I didn’t log back into my account for several months.  I was overwelmed and could not figure out how Twitter could be of use to me.  I had Facebook.  I had LinkedIn.  What more did I need?  Boy, was I wrong.

Facebook is our online family, high school and college reunion all wrapped into one.   Businesses are starting to take advantage of Facebook too which has added a whole new dimension to this form of Social Networking.

LinkedIn as I often call it, is our online Rolodex.  What a better way to stay connected with colleagues, carry on business conversations, and reach out to new people in business today.

So what about Twitter?  How can Twitter help a job seeker?  We see the people who use this platform for a place to share their unfiltered thoughts.  To each his own I suppose.  But, professionals use Twitter to share information.  Business also uses Twitter to share job opportunities.  Twitter is a great opportunity for job seekers to find out information at a moment’s notice.  And you can easily reply back to organizations without having to wait for your invitation request to be accepted.  Instant.  And you would be very surprised at the number of companies that respond back and even cross reference job applicants with those who communicate with them via social networking platforms.

Another feature of Twitter that is probably my favorite of all is the #hashtag search capability.  Twitter has created this capability not just to search for topics but also carry on conversations with those interested in the same subject.  Twitter chats have become extremely populary for job seekers.  These chats allow candid question and answer conversations.  #InternPro, #jobhuntchat, #careerchat, #genychat, #hfchat, and #internchat are some of my favorites.  Please stay tuned to my next blog when I will be discussing each of these Twitter chats in more detail.

Twitter provides a platform for job seekers to seek out the most respected advice, job opportunities, information on prospective employers and much more in just a few seconds.   The value of Twitter needs no further explanation.  Simply put, job seekers and serious career managers must use Twitter in today’s job market.

Never underestimate the power of Tweeting your way to a great job.

One thought on “Why Job Seekers Should Tweet

  1. Pingback: Why Job Seekers Should Tweet » US Hospital Careers – Hospital Career News & Information

Leave a Reply

